The doshas are the 3 primary energetic principles which regulate every physiological and psychological process in the body-mind. A harmonious state of the three doshas creates balance in the body, mind, and emotions-homeostasis-and is the foundation of good health. Any longstanding imbalance in the doshas manifests as disease. The three constituent humors are Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.

Vata dosha is made up of primarily Air along with Ether (Space) a secondary element. It is the energy of movement, the force behind the other two doshas, which are considered incapable of movement without it. It is responsible for all of the body's activities and sensations. It is responsible for the movement of air in and out of the lungs, blood through the circulatory system, and thoughts through the mind. It regulates the proper use of energy by the different cellular structures. It promotes mental balance and comprehension. Ayurveda describes the Vata Dosha as the controller of the other two Doshas.

Cellular division is not possible without Vata. It is essential for cellular organisation and formation of tissues.

Vata is present all over the body and in every living cell. Ayurveda has specified some main locations where actions and manifestation of Vata appear normally in the human body. The parts below naval area are considered Vata area.

These organs are

  1. Pelvic colon
  2. Bladder
  3. Pelvis
  4. Kidneys
  5. Bones
  6. Skin
  7. Ears
  8. Lower Limbs

    Vata Sub Types

    1. Prana Vata
    2. Vyan Vata
    3. Saman Vata
    4. Udan Vata
    5. Apaan Vata

      Pitta Dosha is made up of primarily Fire with Water as a secondary element. Pitta is energy of digestion and metabolism, it is responsible for all chemical and metabolic transformations in the body, as well as for heat production. It also governs our ability to digest ideas and impressions and to perceive the nature of reality. It stimulates the intellect and kindles the capacity for enthusiasm. It is the energy state of the body and is concerned with the metabolic and biochemical processes which generate heat and energy.

      Pitta is present all over the body but there are some specified locations mentioned in Ayurveda for easier understanding and has therapeutic significance for treating Pitta disorders. All parts between heart and naval are considered Pitta area.

      1. Stomach
      2. Small intestine
      3. Liver
      4. Pancreas
      5. Spleen
      6. Eyes
      7. Sweat glands
      8. Blood

        Pitta Sub Types

        1. Pachak Pitta
        2. Sadhak Pitta
        3. Alochak Pitta
        4. Bhrajak Pitta
        5. Ranjak Pitta

          Kapha Dosha is made up of primarily Earth with water as a secondary element. It provides support and substance to the body. It gives strength and stability, both physical and psychological, and governs human emotions such as love, compassion, forgiveness, loyalty and patience. Kapha can bestow resistance against disease and can support the healing process. Kapha is major constitution of the body. It is responsible for main mass of the body. Where Vata and Pitta effects are active on the body, Kapha acts to restrict these two forces and prevent their excessive manifestation.

          Kapha is present in the whole body and it is responsible for whole mass of the body but Ayurveda has described some of its main locations where the main actions of Kapha are observable and have some therapeutic importance in Ayurveda for treating Kapha disorders. All parts above the heart are considered Kapha area.

          1. Head
          2. Throat
          3. Chest
          4. Lungs
          5. Connective Tissue
          6. Fatty Tissue
          7. Ligaments
          8. Lymph

            Kapha Subtypes:

            1. Kledaka Kapha
            2. Avalambaka Kapha
            3. Bodhaka Kapha
            4. Tarpak Kapha
            5. Shleshmaka Kapha

              Vata Dosha

              Air + Ether

              Pitta Dosha Fire + Water
              Kapha Dosha Earth + Water

              In same category